

Newberry County Registration and Election Commission 1872 Wilson Rd. PO Box 147 Newberry, SC 29108 (803) 321-2121 Fax (803) 321-2122

Board Members Tony White, Chairman Henry B. Summer, Vice-Chairman Martha Waller, Secretary Doretha C. Simpson

Brenda Fulmer John Glasgow Samuel Price, Jr.

Director Sheli Madray Deputy Director Danial Piester

December 18, 2024

The Newberry County Registration and Elections Board met Wednesday, December 18, 2024, at 9:00 a.m. at the Newberry County Election Office. Chairman Tony White called the meeting to order, and Henry Summer opened with prayer.

Board members present were Chairman Tony White, Doretha Simpson, Henry Summer and Martha Waller. Board members Brenda Fulmer, John Glasgow and Sam Price were absent. Also present were Director Sheli Madray and Deputy Director Danial Piester.

A quorum was established with four board members present.

Doretha Simpson made the motion that the board convene as the county board of canvassers for the certification of the Newberry City Council District 2 Seat Special Election held December 17, 2024. Martha Waller seconded. The motion was approved.

Director Sheli Madray administered the constitutional oath to the board members who then signed the State of South Carolina, Newberry County Board of Canvassers Members Oath form.

Director Madray stated that there were only 4 votes cast during the two-week early voting period with 21 votes cast on election day. The election office staff saved the city of Newberry funds by combining the precinct locations and having the election held at the election office. Deputy

Director Piester handled the programming of the election equipment, the opening and closing of the equipment and the required reports. This was a hands-on learning experience for him.

The Unofficial Summary Results Report was distributed to each board member. There were no write-in ballots, no absentee ballots, no Provisional ballots and no Failsafe ballots. Doretha Simpson made the motion to certify the election results. Martha Waller seconded. The motion was approved.

There being no further business, Doretha Simpson made the motion to adjourn seconded by Martha Waller. The motion was approved. The meeting was adjourned at 9:20 a.m.