

Newberry County Registration and Election Commission 1872 Wilson Rd. PO Box 147 Newberry, SC 29108 (803) 321-2121 Fax (803) 321-2122



**Board Members** 

Tony White, Chairman Henry B. Summer, Vice-Chairman Martha Waller, Secretary Brenda Fulmer John Glasgow Samuel Price, Jr. Doretha C. Simpson

<u>Interim Director</u> Sheli Madray

June 27, 2024

The Newberry County Registration and Elections Board met Thursday, June 27, 2024, at 10:00 a.m. at the Newberry County Election Office. Chairman Tony White called the meeting to order, and Henry Summer opened with prayer.

Commissioners present were Chairman Tony White, Brenda Fulmer, Doretha Simpson, Henry Summer and Martha Waller. Commissioners John Glasgow and Sam Price were absent. Also present were Interim Director Sheli Madray and Kelly Duncan from the Newberry Observer.

A quorum was established with five board members present.

Doretha Simpson made the motion that the board convene as the county board of canvassers for the certification of the Republican Primary Run-off held Tuesday, June 25, 2024. Martha Waller seconded. The motion was approved.

Interim Director Sheli Madray administered the constitutional oath to the board members. Commissioners then signed the State of South Carolina, Newberry County Board of Canvassers Members Oath form.

On Wednesday, June 26, 2024, at 9:00 am a hand count audit was conducted for the precincts of Hartford, Prosperity Outside, Wheeland and the first day of early voting. Conducting the hand count audit was Interim Director Sheli Madray. Performing the hand count audit were Doretha Simpson, Martha Waller, Tony White, Christianna Gilliam, Roy McClurkin and Lisa Toland. Approval has been received from the State Election Commission Audit Division of the 2024 June Primary Run-Off Hand Count Audits.

The Official Summary Results Report was distributed to each board member. There was one Provisional ballot due to machine malfunction which was counted on election night, no Failsafe ballots and no absentee ballots. The canvas checklist has been completed. Martha Waller made the motion to certify the election results. Doretha Simpson seconded. The motion was approved. Commissioners then signed the Statement and Return of Votes for the Republican Primary Run-off held June 25, 2024 form.

There being no further business, Doretha Simpson made the motion to adjourn seconded by Brenda Fulmer. The motion was approved. The meeting adjourned at 10:20 am.