



PO Box 147 Newberry, SC 29108 (803) 321-2121 Fax (803) 321-2122

Board Members

Tony White, Chairman Henry B. Summer, Vice-Chairman Martha Waller, Secretary Doretha C. Simpson Brenda Fulmer John Glasgow Samuel Price, Jr.

Interim DIRECTOR
Sheli Madray

DEPUTY DIRECTOR

June 13, 2024

The Newberry County Registration and Elections Board met Thursday, June 13, 2024, at 10:00 a.m. at the Newberry County Election Office. Chairman Tony White called the meeting to order, and Henry Summer opened with prayer.

Commissioners present were Chairman Tony White, Brenda Fulmer, Sam Price, Doretha Simpson, Henry Summer and Martha Waller. Commissioner John Glasgow was absent. Also present were Interim Director Sheli Madray and Kelly Duncan from the Newberry Observer.

A quorum was established with six board members present.

Martha Waller made the motion that the board convene as the county board of canvassers for the certification of the Peak Special Election for Mayor and Town Council and the Democratic and Republican Primaries held Tuesday, June 11, 2024. Henry Summer seconded. The motion was approved.

Interim Director Sheli Madray administered the constitutional oath to the board members. Commissioners then signed the State of South Carolina, Newberry County Board of Canvassers Members Oath form.

On Wednesday, June 12, 2024, at 9:00 am a hand count audit was conducted for the precincts of Newberry Ward 5, Consolidated #5, Prosperity Outside and the first day of early voting. Conducting the hand count audit was Interim Director Sheli Madray. Performing the hand count audit were Doretha Simpson, Martha Waller, Tony White, Christianna Gilliam, Roy McClurkin and Lisa Toland. Approval has been received from the State Election Commission of the 2024 June Primary Hand Count Audits.



Newberry County Registration and Election Commission 1872 Wilson Rd.

PO Box 147 Newberry, SC 29108 (803) 321-2121 Fax (803) 321-2122

Board Members

Tony White, Chairman Henry B. Summer, Vice-Chairman Martha Waller, Secretary Doretha C. Simpson Brenda Fulmer John Glasgow Samuel Price, Jr.

Interim DIRECTOR Sheli Madray

DEPUTY DIRECTOR

The Official Summary Results Report was distributed to each board member. There were no Provisional ballots and no Failsafe ballots. The canvas checklist has been completed. Sam Price made the motion to certify the election results. Doretha Simpson seconded. The motion was approved. Commissioners then signed the Statement and Return of Votes for the Peak Special Election, the Democratic Primary and the Republican Primary held June 11, 2024, form.

There will be a runoff election between Sheri Biggs and Mark Burns for the Republican U.S. House of Representatives District 3 seat on Tuesday, June 25, 2024, with early voting beginning on Wednesday, June 19, 2024, at the election office.

Certification of the runoff election will be held on Thursday, June 27, 2024, at 10;00 am at the Newberry County Election Office.

There being no further business, Brenda Fulmer made the motion to adjourn seconded by Sam Price. The motion was approved. The meeting adjourned at 10:25 am.