

Newberry County Voter Registration and Election Commission 1872 Wilson Rd, Newberry, SC 29108 / 803-321-2121

Board Members

Tony White, Chairman Henry B. Summer, Vice-Chairman Martha Waller, Secretary Doretha Simpson Brenda Fulmer John Glasgow Samuel Price, Jr.

Director Sheli Michelle Madray

Deputy Director Danial A. Piester

November 7, 2024

The Newberry County Registration and Elections Board met Thursday, November 7, 2024, at 10:00 a.m. at the Newberry County Election Office. Chairman Tony White called the meeting to order, and John Glasgow opened with prayer.

Board members present were Chairman Tony White, John Glasgow, Doretha Simpson and Martha Waller. Board member Sam Price was absent. Board members Brenda Fulmer and Henry Summer were absent but excused. Also present was Director Sheli Madray.

A quorum was established with four board members present.

Doretha Simpson made the motion that the board convene as the county board of canvassers for the certification of the General Election held November 5, 2024. Martha Waller seconded. The motion was approved.

Director Sheli Madray administered the constitutional oath to the board members who then signed the State of South Carolina, Newberry County Board of Canvassers Members Oath form.

On Wednesday, November 6, 2024, at 9:00 a.m. a hand count audit was conducted for the precincts of Bush River (Sheriff), Maybinton (Treasurer), Stoney Hill (Amendment) and the first day of early voting (Clerk of Court). Conducting the hand count audit was Director Sheli Madray. Performing the hand count audit were Doretha Simpson, Marthe Waller, Tony White, Brigitte Bell, Christianna Gilliam, Roy McClurkin and Lisa Toland. Approval had not been

received from the State Election Commission of the 2024 General Election Hand Count Audit as of Thursday, November 7, 2024, at 10:00 a.m.

The Town Council seats of Whitmire, Little Mountain, Pomaria, and Silverstreet could not be certified due to a very large number of write-in votes and because two or more candidates could be voted for. The election equipment does not separate out the write-in ballots when you can vote for two or more candidates. The State Election Commission is currently working to resolve this issue.

The Unofficial Summary Results Report was distributed to each board member. There were nine Provisional ballots and no Failsafe ballots. Each Provisional ballot was opened and discussed by the board. John Glasgow made the motion that all nine provisional ballots be counted. Doretha Simpson seconded. The motion was approved. These ballots were scanned through the DS 300 scanner and new totals obtained. The board members reviewed the Post-election Reconciliation, Audit and Canvass Checklist. John Glasgow made the motion to accept the Post-election Checklist. Martha Waller seconded. The motion was approved. Doretha Simpson made the motion to certify the election results. John Glasgow seconded. The motion was approved. Board members then signed the Statement and Return of Votes for the General Election held November 5, 2024, form.

There being no further business, Doretha Simpson made the motion to adjourn seconded by Martha Waller. The motion was approved. The meeting adjourned at 10:52 a.m.